A Year from the Possible “Impossible Dream”

This afternoon, my boyfriend and I were talking about this part-time job I’m interested in taking. I see it as an opportunity for growth, considering that I am planning a career that deals with facing a lot of people. I said that if I engage in this part-time job now, I would have a readily available fallback in case it would already be necessary for me to drop my full time job for law school, let’s say, when I’m already preparing for the bar exam.

Everything was so easy to say but then it suddenly hit me when he asked, “Kaya mo ba pagsabayin yan lahat? Work, school, part-time?” (Can you handle everything simultaneously?)

I remembered my Mom juggling full time work as a high school teacher, part-time college professor in two universities, and studying her masters degree full time while still being a mom and a wife. So I said, if she can, then I can, too.

It brought me to googling articles and forums that talked about law school and working full time, eventually leading me to this blog post: A Full-Time Working, Full-Load Law Student.

Now I say that I am finally ready to face everything. I am now ready to sacrifice time and money for this lifelong dream. If others can, why can’t I?

This probably means less travels, compromise in relationships and social life, ultimate maximization of resources and exceptional time management and prioritization skills. Imagining the demands of full and part time work plus how law school can be such a jealous paramour, it would probably cost me a lot. But like it’s been said many times, in the end, it will all be worth it.

I will probably let go of promotions that may come along the way, because higher post means more responsibilities, and I can’t afford that while studying for my Juris Doctor degree. But for the sake of the A-T-T-Y before my name after a few years of risk and sacrifice, I will take the courage of saying “No.”

Next year, hopefully, I’m already getting myself ready for this chapter – a whole new challenge to overcome. For now, I think I should probably take all the sleeps that I can get and load all the Netflix shows that I can binge watch. It won’t be too long until I become a zombie.

Leave a comment