Enraptured Reality

Phantasm. Bewilderment. Clairvoyance.

Beauty in Solitary

Leave a comment

Errol and I were supposed to have a Davao getaway last week but my parents, still being in the old school era, didn’t allow me to go since there were only the two of us. As the obedient daughter, of course I didn’t come. Errol still went and I’ve asked him to take lots of photos and send them to me while he went solo backpacking, which he did. 🙂

In another universe, I did my own solitary moment as well. Since I already filed a leave from work, I just took the opportunity go solo.

During my first day of Project #BeautyInSolitary, I went to Tagaytay. I just brought my book with me as companion in case I couldn’t think of anything to do. I went to Skyranch. There were just around 2-3 groups and 2-3 couples, so it was nice to go people watching. I watched them laugh, smile, talk, flirt, take photos, scream… I watched them become human. I didn’t take rides. When I was done roaming around, I just sat somewhere, read my book, appreciated the beauty of the place and the Taal Lake & Taal Volcano, and that was it.

IMG_20171004_153403_489IMG_20171004_201526_895

After around 30 minutes, I walked from Skyranch to Charito by Bag of Beans. It was a 20-minute walk, but it wasn’t tiring because the air was fresh and you can feel Tagaytay’s cold breeze.

Processed with VSCO with b4 presetIMG_20171004_221917_360

I enjoyed my Buttermilk Pancake and Iced Mocha while looking at Taal like I’ve never seen it before. Tagaytay is a regular go-to of our family, but I believe looking at Taal alone made me see the beauty of it even more… The stillness of the lake, the curves and edges of the land… It was really amazing to look at.

The next day, I did one thing that I’ve always wanted to do: to watch a movie at the cinema house alone. And guess what? I had the whole Greenbelt Cinema by myself!

IMG_20171005_152711_695

That was a much needed break from the city life, stress and daily rants for me. I know I would’ve had an entirely different experience with my boyfriend in Davao, but instead of being sad about it, I just did something worthwhile to break free.

Would I do that again? Of course I will! I don’t know about you, but as extroverted as I may seem to be, I really do crave for alone time every once in awhile. Trust me, somehow it’s mentally healthy.

Author: Clau

A music junkie obsessed with coffee, books, and writing erratic oeuvres

Leave a Reply

