Enraptured Reality

Phantasm. Bewilderment. Clairvoyance.

Cages and Chains

Leave a comment

She was burning
Long before
Locked herself in cages
So sturdy that no one can enter
Metal strings of fragile chains
She never let anyone in;

She was burning
Flames and shadows
Still knocking her down
Even after centuries
Still a ghost in her town;
So she never let anyone in
Until one day…

One day, he came
Threw waves over the flames
She was burning,
But not anymore, not anymore…

He destroyed the cages,
Broke down the chains
And on blank pages
He wrote his name
He built new cages
Tied new chains,
Cages that will save her,
Chains that will protect her,
So she let him in…

And he took his match
To light up her dark world
And their shadows formed cages
That locked them in forever
And their hearts beat the same
Now she’s no longer burning
Because she let him in;

I was burning
Long before
Locked myself in cages
So sturdy that no one can enter
Metal strings of fragile chains
I never let anyone in
Until you came, until you came…

Your lips became my cage,
Your arms became my chains,
And the candle that was burning me
Lit like a wonderful fire again
When I let you in;
I’m glad I let you in…

Old works
@ HISTRIONICDEITYPOETRY.BLOGSPOT.COM

Author: Claudine

A music junkie obsessed with coffee, books and writing erratic oeuvres

Leave a Reply

