Enraptured Reality

Phantasm. Bewilderment. Clairvoyance.

Bienvenido, Papa Francisco!

Leave a comment

When Pope John Paul II came here in 1995, my Mom told me that we also had a close view of him; but I still had no idea what was happening back then. Twenty years later, here I am, savoring my very own experience of being able to see Pope Francis. I feel sooooo blessed. Indeed one of the best things ever! ❤

Photo from Google

Photo from Google

The sight of the Pope’s plane landing on the Philippines last January 15, Thursday, even if I was just watching the television, gave me chills. I even felt more excited because I knew that I’m gonna be seeing him in person soon.

My parents were blessed (I’m beginning to avoid the word lucky, the word blessed is better), to be able to get into the quad of Mall of Asia Arena last January 16, Friday. They got their tickets from the community they belong to, the Brotherhood of Christian Businessmen and Professionals (BCBP). As for me and my companions, we were along EDSA, waiting for Pope Francis to pass by. There we thousands of people who also wanted to see him, and if you have watched the television that time, perhaps you saw the crowd that was waiting to take even just a short sight of him.

Photo credit goes to a family friend who was inside the MOA Arena Quad for the Meeting with the Families

Photo credit goes to a family friend who was inside the MOA Arena Quad for the Meeting with the Families

The Pope Mobile was too fast so I wasn’t able to take a whole view of him the first time he passed by us. I am not tall enough to get a good view and I wasn’t in the front row. I felt sad because I just saw a portion of his white suit. We were on the left-hand of the road that time too, and Pope Francis was waving at the people at the right side. A lot of people had already left when Pope was already inside the MOA Arena for the Meeting with the Families. Since I wasn’t able to see him well that afternoon, I stayed where I was, now right behind the barricades, so that when Pope Francis gets to pass by in the evening after the program, I would then get a closer view of him.

I would like to extend my gratitude to the policemen because they allowed some of us to go over the barricades, for as long as we wouldn’t stand. It was fine with us – just a glimpse of Pope Francis would make us all so happy.

Pope Francis still rode the Pope Mobile from MOA Arena on his way back to the Apostolic Nunciature. We were all so excited to see him when we saw on the big screens outside the he was going to ride the Pope Mobile. We were all cheering his name and when the moment came, even though it was kind of fast, it seemed so miraculously amazing! I felt so blessed that I really cried! We may have waited for hours, but that close encounter with Pope Francis was definitely worth it. My tears of joy were unstoppable. The memory of Pope Francis’ smile as he waved on our direction will forever be in my memory. If I could just put it into picture, I would. ❤

Thank you sa malasakit, Papa Francisco! We love you! Thank you for being a symbol of our faith renewal. Thank you for making us feel God’s love through your words and actions. THANK YOU FOR YOUR MERCY AND COMPASSION!

I hope, someday, when I get to see you again, perhaps in Rome, I would then be able to kiss your ring, and hug you tight. GOD BLESS YOU, POPE FRANCIS! We will definitely pray for you!


I wasn’t able to take photos of Pope Francis but the memory of it all is enough.

Tired but happy feet... These feet walked a long road, stood and waited for Pope Francis!

Tired but happy feet… These feet walked a long road, stood and waited for Pope Francis!

The sun had set, but our faith haven't. And will not ever. :)

The sun had set, but our faith haven’t. And will not ever. 🙂

Selfie with these people while waiting for Lolo Kiko :)

Selfie with these people while waiting for Pope Francis 🙂

Sorry not sorry for this. Almost everyone was taking selfies!

Sorry not sorry for this. Almost everyone was taking selfies!

We waited until evening... And it was all worth it.

We waited until evening… And it was all worth it.


Pope Francis’ visit in the Philippines really means a lot. It was touching to see the leaders of different religions gather. It was wonderful to see the Filipinos unite. It was amazing to see the faithful cry, smile and pray in harmony. It was magical to see the gift of GOD’s love.

His mercy and compassion weren’t just words, because we all saw him act with mercy and compassion. Indeed, the People’s Pope.

Hasta que nos encontremos de nuevo, Papa Francisco! We are truly blessed! ❤


P.S. FAITH SHOULD NEVER BE A MOTION FOR DEBATE. Let us respect each other’s beliefs. Thank you.

Author: Claudine

A music junkie obsessed with coffee, books and writing erratic oeuvres

Leave a Reply

